ablogbykyle

the most electrifying blog in sports and entertainment

What up world?

First post time… here it comes… here it comes… here!

Whoa this blogging thing is exciting! So here’s a little bit about me: my name is Kyle; I am a senior film major here at Temple.  My goal with this arguably foolish choice of major is to become a screenwriter.  Write for TV, write movies, whatever.  I’ve written a bunch of short scripts and I am currently working on my first feature-length screenplay (along with a million other wannabe screenwriters in the world).  As anyone who has dabbled in screenwriting can tell you, it’s a very rigid form of writing.  Lots of “rules” to follow, very specific formatting and structure, basically not a lot of freedom if you ever want to get your script made.  So I figured I’d branch out a bit in my last semester here and take a bunch of different writing courses (plus I accidently took the maximum amount of film credits already; I’m not one for planning ahead).  I’ve dabbled in writing short stories and things of that nature, but beyond class assignments I haven’t done much article writing, although it interests me. So here I am!

I’m originally from Rhode Island and still live there when I’m not getting my schoolin’ here in Philly.  As a proud New Englander, I dutifully love all my Boston sports teams but ranking them purely on love of the sport I’d say Patriots/Red Sox are tied at the top, followed by Celtics, Bruins and the New England Revolution (that last one by default, I could care less about MLS soccer).  I’ll admit I don’t read as many books as I should, but I’m currently reading “Rat Bastards,” a memoir by John “Red” Shea, who was Whitey Bulger’s protege and refused to rat when the organization came tumbling down (needless to say he’s a little salty about the whole “Whitey being an FBI informant” thing).  Good book!  My favorite writer is Bill Simmons a.k.a The Sports Guy, who writes for ESPN and his own site grantland.com, which I highly recommend to fans of sports or pop culture writing.  Other sites I frequent include /Film for all my movie news, HipHopDX to find the latest hot jamz (and currently to follow the Common/Drake beef, which I couldn’t be happier about. Get ’em Com!) and yes, even Brobible.com.  Admittedly the writers here can be pretty douchey but they post links to all the stuff I like (sports clips and stories, hot girls, funny videos and all that random goodness that the internet has to offer) so I can put up with commentary.  I can’t put up with the comments though; the people who read that site are fucking morons. Wait, what does this say about me?  I guess I’ll stop here.

…and there it goes.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “What up world?

  1. As a Giants fan, Kyle, I have to say you and I may not get along very well the next few weeks. 🙂 Are you familiar with David Foster Wallace? Bill Simmons cites him as a huge influence on his writing style. Definitely check him out if you haven’t already.

  2. I’ve heard the name before, probably from Simmons himself. I’ll definitely have to look into his stuff. Also, Pats 27 Giants 24. Mark it down!

Drop knowledge

